#1 Boatman6971

Boatman6971

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationRedmond WA
  • Hometown Lake:Lake Sammammish

Posted 14 October 2014 - 10:11 AM

We noticed that the gel coat under the swim step between the exhaust ports was faded real bad and only in that area on our 2014 F22 Tomcat with 101 hours on it. We keep our boat on a lift out of the water so I don't think that is the issue. I had the dealership contact MB to see if that could be covered under warranty and they told us no because they felt that the extra ballast weight was making the engine (upgraded 409) run hotter and therefore that is what caused the gel coat to look like it does now. I have to question that since the exhaust goes into the water first before touching the boat. The boat is running perfect right at about 175 degrees so it is not overheating. I am not a mechanic by any means but if the engine is running at the correct temperature I have a hard time believing that the exhaust is that much hotter. Oh an BTW the boat is rated to hold 14 people, I think that if we usually ride with only 4-6 people, the extra ballast weight is making up for the other 8-10 people.  Please let me know if you are running extra weight in your boat and you have noticed this issue.

Please help so that I know how hard I should press this issue.  I am kind of dissapointed with the answer from MB.

#2 SteeleWake

SteeleWake

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • LocationSan Jose, CA

Posted 14 October 2014 - 10:28 AM

Got a bit heated when I saw your post and probably chimed in too quickly. Given I am still working through my issues, and given I believe Mike and MB will continue to be the stand up folks that inspired me to sell my boat and move over to MB, I should refrain from posting publicly until all is finally resolved. I totally hope that yours was just their initial reaction, and am sure if you continue the conversation (maybe with Mike B directly?) they'll take care of you.