Looking for a manual and advice!

Newtoboating

Hey everyone. I’m brand new to boating and I just bought a 1998 MB Sports Boss 210. Before I take it out I would really like to find an owner’s manual to look over. Does anyone know where I could find one? Also I’m open to hear some advice or tips for people brand new to boating, I feel a little in over my head. Thanks!

Just a few things that might help.

If you are new to backing up a trailer practice in an empty parking lot with some cheap cones or something similar. Learning to back a trailer on the ramp can be a frustrating/bad idea on a busy day.

Make sure you take the boat out for a couple of practice runs on days that are not busy. You might want to limit the number of people in the boat on those days so you can focus on the task at hand.

See if you can find a boating friend to help show you the ropes.

Create a checklist of pre-launch items that everyone knows( that way everyone helps you remember and are able to double check)

1. make sure the drain plug is installed and snug.

2. remove the rear trailer tie-down straps before launching the boat.

This is just a suggestion and my 2 cents. Others may have different opinions on this.

Have both you and another potential driver learn how to drive the boat.

To start:

I would suggest backing the boat into the water on the trailer, making sure it is in deep enough, then start the motor. Let it run for a while so you can check temps and oil.  Next, get the feel for putting the boat in drive and reverse without giving it any gas. I have seen new drivers panic and overpower driving in forward or reverse into other boats. 

Just a few things that might help.

If you are new to backing up a trailer practice in an empty parking lot with some cheap cones or something similar. Learning to back a trailer on the ramp can be a frustrating/bad idea on a busy day.